The Atlanta Board of Education establishes and approves the policies that govern the Atlanta Public School system. The Board consists of nine members, representing six geographical districts and three "at-large" districts. One person is elected per district to represent the schools in a given district for a four-year term.

The School Board has two types of positions:


WHO was elected for School board

Candidates listed here won their 2017 election.

Links are provided for candidates with campaign (not personal) websites or social media accounts.
If you know of a link we’re missing, please email us.


Leslie Grant

District 1

(consists of City Council Districts 1 & 2)

Michelle Olympiadis

District 3

(consists of City Council Districts 5 & 6)


Nancy Meister

District 4

(consists of City Council Districts 7 & 8)

Erika Y. Mitchell

District 5

(consists of City Council Districts 9 & 10)


Eshé Collins

District 6

(consists of City Council Districts 11 & 12)

Kandis Wood Jackson

At-Large, Seat 7

Cynthia Briscoe Brown

At-Large, Seat 8

Jason Esteves

At-Large, Seat 9